top of page

About us

The Water Colour Society of Ireland was founded in 1870 in Lismore, Co Waterford and in the following year held its first exhibition in the courthouse there.  From 1871 to 1890 further exhibitions were held at various locations but in 1891 they were moved permanently to Dublin. The Society's present title was adopted in 1888.  The national collection of the Society was founded in 1993 and is housed in Limerick University, where it is on permanent exhibition. In 2009 the University published an illustrated book of the collection.

How we work

The business and affairs of the Society are managed by a committee of members elected every three years comprising of three officers and at least nine other members.

All work is done on a voluntary basis.

The Society has two sources of income: the members subscription fees and the commission charged on all works sold at the annual exhibition. 



Membership of the Society is conferred by the Committee in a secret ballot following review of a substantial portfolio of work submitted by the applicant.

Any artist working in water-based media may apply.

Our Members’ work is extremely varied, both in style and subject matter, and includes paintings in gouache, pen and ink, pastel and watercolour mixed media on paper.

To apply please go to the membership page


In 1994 the Society published "Exhibition List 1872-1994" giving details of all works exhibited in those years - artists' names and addresses, title of the work and sale price. The list records almost 25,000 works by 1,200 artists, including most of the prominent watercolourists of their day. It is an invaluable source of reference.

'The Silent Companion – An illustrated History of The Water Colour Society of Ireland' by Patricia Butler was launched at The National Gallery of Ireland 27th September 2010.


 President - Jayne Barry        Hon. Secretary - Vacant     Hon. Treasurer  - Liam O'Herlihy


Ann Gilleece

Elizabeth O'Kane

Marie Louise Martin

Shirley Giffney

Valerie Syms Martin

Neil Sholdice


George McCaw

Pauline Doyle

Vincent Lambe

Honorary Members

Vincent Lambe

George McCaw

Pauline Scott

Neil Shawcross RUA

Ann O'Clery

bottom of page